SDL Online Translation Editor

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between The SDL Online Translation Editor and SDL Trados Studio?

SDL Trados Studio Freelance is the world's most popular translation tool, designed for professional freelance translators. It is a complete translation environment that offers integrated translation memory, terminology management and machine translation technology.

The SDL Online Translation Editor is an online tool to help you quickly translate and edit documents. It is perfect for people who might be looking for a tool to help with ad hoc translations, but do not require the functionality that we offer in our professional software – SDL Trados Studio Freelance.

Click here for the full comparison table

Can I translate SDL Trados files using the Online Translation Editor?

Is the Editor only for translation professionals?

Absolutely not! The SDL Online Translation Editor is ideal for anyone who needs to translate a document quickly and easily without the need to install any software.

'New Editor version available', what should I do if this appears?

If you are receiving a message informing you that the new Editor version is available, please press CNTRL + F5 on your keyboard to refresh the page and continue with your translation project.

Is the SDL Online Translation Editor a web-based version of SDL Trados Studio?

What do I need to be able to use the SDL Online Translation Editor?

All you need to use the SDL Online Translation Editor is a computer with a supported web browser and an internet connection. SDL recommends Google Chrome for the best performance. The Editor does not support Internet Explorer.

Which browser should I use when working on the Online Translation Editor?

The SDL Online Translation Editor performs best when opened on the Google Chrome browser.

Do I need an account to use the SDL Online Translation Editor?

Yes. In order to use SDL Online Translation Editor you must have an SDL ID. If you don’t have an SDL ID you will be prompted to create one when you register for the Online Translation Editor.

Why has my document been pre-translated? Can I switch this feature off?

For some language pairs, machine translations are automatically applied to your document when you open it for translation in the Editor to help you get started. If you want to remove the machine translations, click on the 'Clear Target Segment' in the menu.

Click here for the full list of over 100 language pairs available for pre-translation using MT in the Editor

Which languages are supported by the SDL Online Translation Editor?

The SDL Online Translation Editor supports translating documents to and from any one of the following languages:

Please note: not all of these languages support the pre-translation of files using machine translation (MT). See more about this in the tab below: 'What languages is the pre-translation with Machine Translation (MT) available in?'

  • Albanian
  • Arabic
  • Bengali
  • Bulgarian
  • Catalan
  • Chinese (Simplified)
  • Chinese (Traditional)
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dari
  • Dutch
  • English
  • Estonian
  • Finnish
  • French
  • French (Canada)
  • German
  • Greek
  • Hausa
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latvian
  • Lithuanian
  • Lithuanian
  • Malay
  • Maltese
  • Norwegian
  • Pashto
  • Persian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Portuguese (Brazil)
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Serbian
  • Slovak
  • Slovenian
  • Somali
  • Spanish
  • Spanish (Latin America)
  • Swedish
  • Thai
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Urdu
  • Vietnamese

What languages is the pre-translation with Machine Translation (MT) available in?

How secure is the SDL Online Translation Editor?

All documents uploaded to the Editor are stored safely on our secure server network. Your content is treated as confidential and never shared with other SDL users. For more information about our data security policy, see our Terms and Conditions.

What is a Translation Memory?

A translation memory is a database that captures your translations as you work, and remembers them for future use, meaning you never have to translate the same sentence twice. The SDL Online Translation Editor has an integrated translation memory that is used to pre-translate your documents. This helps improve the consistency of your translations, as well as making it faster to complete a translation.

How do I access my Translation Memory?

At the moment it is not possible to create, edit or view the contents of your Translation Memory in the SDL Online Translation Editor. When you complete your first translation in the Editor, a TM will be created in the background and it will store everything that you translate so that it can be reused in future projects. This TM is personal to you and will not be shared or used by anybody else.

If you are looking for a translation tool where you can manage the contents of your TM and also export it, check out our more advanced tool for professional translators - SDL Trados Studio Freelance.

Click here for a full comparison of The SDL Online Translation Editor and SDL Trados Studio.

Can I use my existing SDL Trados Studio Translation Memories and projects in the Online Translation Editor?

No, this is not currently possible. The Editor is a standalone translation environment, meaning it cannot accept SDL Trados Studio Translation Memories or another exportable Studio files.

Do I need to have SDL Trados Studio to use the Online Translation Editor?

No you don’t need to have any other SDL products in order to use SDL Online Translation Editor. Just a web browser and an internet connection.

Which file types are compatible with the Online Translation Editor?

You can translate the following file types: doc, docx, pdf, ppt, pptx, xlsx, txt, odt

How do I cancel my subscription?

Cancelling can be done easily within the 'Subscription' tab found within your account. Simply untick the 'Auto-Renewal' box to cancel your subscription. After you cancel you will continue to have access to the Editor until the end of your billing period. You will not be charged a fee for cancelling. 

Please note: we will archive and store your documents and translations for 90 days - if you decide to re-activate your account within 90 days of cancelling your data will still be available. If you would like to reactivate your account after 90 days your documents will no longer be available.