- 'Allow source editing' is unticked by default. You need to tick this to bring the second option into play.
- 'Enable merging segments across paragraph' is greyed out by default, but becomes editable once you've ticked 'Allow source editing'. You can then tick this option to enable merging across paragraphs.
- Click 'OK' to save these changes.
Enabling 'Allow source editing' is also useful if, for example, there are spelling mistakes in the source document, or an error resulting from OCR-ing a scanned PDF.
After merging, you'll see that there's a missing segment number where the second segment was. Studio preserves an empty segment wherever segments have been merged across a hard return. These are hidden by default, but you can reveal them if you need to:
- Go to File > Options.
- Under 'Editor' select 'Automation'.
- At the bottom of the list of options, untick 'Hide empty segments that have been merged'.
- You can also use the dropdown to change the status of the empty segments if you need to, which by default are set to 'Translated'.
If you've merged segments across paragraph marks you might find that you need to do some post-translation tidying in the translated file, because the empty segments will be preserved with empty paragraph marks.
Or you may need to revert to the original formatting. For example, if you've merged a bulleted list of items into a single segment, you may need to recreate the bulleted list in the target document.